The Briar Archive Timeline

August 6, 2016

Ackerly Green’s Guide to MAGIQ

Book 0 in the Briar Archive

In the fall of 2005, the remains of Roosevelt Island’s crumbling insane asylum were demolished to make way for condominiums.
In the rubble, someone found the only known copy of Ackerly Green’s Guide to MAGIQ. Originally published in 1956, the book had been all but lost to time.

The book is a folly. A fascination. By following the winding paths inside its pages you are able to discover, not only what school of magic you belong to, but also the level and focus of your “magimystical” aptitude.

Myth and mystery have surrounded this book, its history, and its true purpose for decades. Are you ready to open Ackerly Green’s Guide to MAGIQ?

August 6, 2016

July 27, 2017

The Monarch Papers: Flora & Fauna

Book 1 in the Briar Archive

A supernatural secret, a race to thwart a sinister magic, and one young woman’s strange inheritance, that could change her life, and history itself. 

Flora & Fauna is the first entry in the Briar Archive, a dark fantasy adventure based on the groundbreaking interactive experience The Monarch Papers. Thousands of people from around the world joined forces to solve puzzles, uncover mysteries, and interact with characters to try and unravel a secret that some would die to discover and others would kill to keep.

Ready to join the interactive adventure?
Take the Magiq Guide Assessment.

July 27, 2017

July 27, 2017

The Monarch Papers: Cosmos & Time

Book 2 in the Briar Archive

Cosmos & Time is the next chapter in a thrilling fantasy adventure based on the groundbreaking interactive experience. Thousands of people from around the world joined forces to solve puzzles, uncover mysteries, and interact with characters, to try and unravel a secret that some would die to discover and others would kill to keep.

A secret, hidden for centuries, within the pages of a book. Now you can experience The Monarch Papers yourself.

July 27, 2017

September 22, 2020

Ackerly Green’s Secret Society

Book 3 in the Briar Archive

Artifacts lost in time, supernatural alliances, and a desperate choice that changed the world.

The adventure that began with The Monarch Papers continues with Ackerly Green’s Secret Society.

When Deirdre Green places the stewardship of Ackerly Green Publishing in author C.J. Bernstein’s hands, he expects his days to be filled with copy edits, contracts, and cover designs. 

But when a box of collectible pins is discovered in a long-forgotten storage room, it triggers the reformation of The Ackerly Green Secret Society, a fan club from the company’s lost history. Armed with the pins, the Mountaineers begin to find themselves inexplicably drawn to forgotten magimystic corners of the world, and it becomes clear that there is more to the society than simply honoring Ackerly Green’s enigmatic past.

As magimystic artifacts from the alternate timeline begin surfacing, CJ and the Mountaineers realize a new story is rising from the ashes of The Monarch Papers.

September 22, 2020

September 23, 2020

The Search For Magiq

Book 4 in the Briar Archive

Fading magic, vulnerable allies, and the irrevocable end of an age.

The Search for Magiq follows the narrative events of Ackerly Green’s Secret Society and chronicles the Mountaineers’ final days within the Book of Kings.

It’s been over a year since they’ve heard from any of their friends from The Monarch Papers—Martin Rank, Deirdre Green, even the old Basecamp leaders, like Ascender, Endri, and Eaves. Despite the fact that new recruits are pouring into the forum every day, it seems like the Mountaineers are the last bastion of magimystic knowledge in this world.


September 23, 2020

September 27, 2020

The Book of Briars

Book 5 in the Briar Archive

Alistair Mead only remembers one thing from the year she went missing as a child: A series of books that don’t exist. After years of searching, she stumbles on a clue that proves the books were real but were somehow erased from existence. 

Desperate for answers, Alistair is drawn into an ancient literary underworld whose members believe she might be the key to unraveling the books, and the altered history of the world.

The Book of Briars is a reality-smashing tale of fiction and fate, a story that explores what happens when the lines that separate memory, magic, and the mundane world are shattered beyond repair. 

Part novel, part spell, it is the conclusion, continuation, and consequence of the events that unfolded in The Monarch Papers, Ackerly Green’s Secret Society, and The Search for Magiq narrative.

September 27, 2020

February 8, 2021

The Briar Society: Chapter 1

Book 6 in the Briar Archive

An ancient secret society, a new age of magic, and a question that could decide the fate of the world. The Briar Society: Chapter One is the first book in The Briar Archive: Volume Two.

When a mysterious entity known only as “The Well” joins the forum and begins delivering strange ephemera from an alternate timeline, a select group of readers finds themselves faced with the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity—

To join a secret, centuries-old organization devoted to the preservation, study, and performance of magic. An organization called the Briar Society.

February 8, 2021